Day 7 — Appreciation (is Matter)

Kay
1 min readFeb 9, 2024

--

After meeting with Pak Ade, I thought…

Appreciation come from Appreciate (verb). Appreciate means to recognize the good qualities of somebody/something. While Appreciation is the pleasure that you have when you recognize and enjoy the good qualities of somebody/something. Many people often ignore appreciative behavior and feelings of being appreciated. This may be because culture in Indonesia (Batak people in particular), often ignoring their feelings to appreciate other people.

People who aware that he/she is appriciated has more confidence and creativity (my own observations). I feel the rhythm. It also strenghthen thru Towers Watson study that showed “The single highest driver of engagement is whether or not workers feel their managers are genuinely interested in their wellbeing. Less than 40 percent of workers felt so engaged.”

Fortunately, God give me a chance to feel appriciated (tho I still feel I am not 100% satisfied with my current performance). Thanks to Pak Ade for reminding me about my potential and how many space that I can expand more. Sometimes, the day feels so grey, and we mostly only remember the bad day, and forgot our brigthness, our beautiful day.

For this reason, interacting with other people is important. Especially interacting with positive people… And if we have the opportunity to be well appreciated, don’t forget to give appreciation to other people.. :)

--

--